ICC Women T20 World Cup 2023 

23 T20, 10 Feb, 2023 - 26 Feb, 2023

ICC W-T20 WC 2023 News
Read More

The eighth edition of the Women's T20 World Cup is set to be played in South Africa in 2023. The tournament will start on February 10th, 2023, while the final will be played on February 26th, 2023. ICC on October 2022 confirmed that the tournament had been moved from its original schedule (end of 20222) to February 2023 due to the FIFA World Cup 2022.

Australia will take the field as defending champions, who won the tournament in 2020. In December 2020, ICC confirmed the qualification process for the 2023 Women's T20 World Cup. Being hosts, South Africa automatically qualified and were joined by the top 7 highest ranked teams in the Women's T20 World Cup 2020.

So South Africa (hosts), Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and West Indies automatically qualified for the tournament while Ireland and Bangladesh qualified after playing in the finals of the qualifier.
Three venues in 3 South African cities are set to host the tournament – Newlands Cricket Ground in Cape Town, St. George's Park in Port Elizabeth and Boland Park in Paarl.

The 10 teams are divided into two groups of 5 teams each, where the 5 teams will play 1 match against each other. The top two teams from each group will move on to play in the semi-finals.

The tournament is set to start on February 10th in Cape Town, where hosts South Africa will take on Sri Lanka. Team India on the other hand will play their first match on February 12th, against Pakistan in Cape Town.